Interview: Interviewing David Pullum

David Pullum is a UK based wedding photographer with plenty of experience in the industry. Covering all types of weddings from Russian to Jewish, his style of photography is impressive and inspiring. David has been named in the list of top 10 UK winter wedding photographers by ‘Professional Photographer Magazine’. As well as his work making appearances on BBC, ITV and Sky. I asked him a few questions about his career, style and love of photography.


 

How long have you been a photographer for?

I have been doing photography as a career for just over 13 years now.


 

How did you get into photography?

I took a year long photography course for beginners. Once every month I would have to travel 300 miles to Norwich. They taught me the basics of photography, how to take a good photograph, then with practise I improved my skills over time. Getting me to where I am now.


 

How would you describe your style?

My style is very natural. I want my clients to feel relaxed around me, almost as if I’m not there. I don’t like to be static I want to be fun, be part of the ceremony, move around and interact with everyone. The photograph then means something, the emotions and characteristics captured are all real. I also like to get up close, capture every detail I can.


 

What camera’s do you shoot with?

I have recently changed all my gear, so I am currently shooting with my Nikon D750. With 35mm and 85mm prime lenses. I used to shoot solely with Canon (Canon 5D Mark 3) but Nikon have proved to be better, with Canon failing to update their products regularly.


 

What has been your most memorable job/accomplishment?

Photography has allowed me to do many special things. I have been given the opportunity to travel to many different locations around the world; America, Brazil, Austria, Italy…
My most memorable job; I was asked to photograph the weddings of James Corden and Joe Hart.
My most memorable accomplishment; I was placed 3rd out of 8,000 photographers in the annual top WPJA (Wedding Photojournalist Association) photographers award.


 

What keeps you inspired/motivated to be a photographer?       

Always trying to capture the perfect photograph. You can take good pictures but you’re always trying to capture that one perfect image. More than certainly it will never come, however you keep trying, keep pushing to get it. That motivates you to try your hardest!


 

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to become a photographer?

The harder you work, the more you will get out of it. Make sure to keep practising, take photos of everything, always have your camera on you. I’m still practising now! – you will always learn something new about your camera. But you’ll only achieve your goals with hard work.


 

Could you share a few pieces of your work you are most proud of?

Of course I can!

Click here to see some of Davids work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

